– Our Vision –

“A responsive, developmental and unifying Local Government providing quality services to its citizens in a safe, healthy and well-managed environment, with equal opportunities for all.”

– Our Profile –

Dr Beyers Naudé Local Municipality, the third largest Local Municipality in the country, is well-positioned as a portal to the mystical Karoo, in a region renowned for its pristine natural environment, rich heritage, diverse peoples and cultures. The vast area (28,653 km² in extent) includes the towns of Graaff-Reinet, Willowmore, Aberdeen, Jansenville, Steytlerville, Nieu-Bethesda, Klipplaat and Rietbron; plus a number of smaller settlements and surrounding farms.


– Our Tourism –

Surrounded by the Camdeboo National Park, Graaff-Reinet, the heart of the “Great Karoo” – Place of Thirst – is a boundless and mysterious area covered by vast sheep and game farms, where broad plains roll away to distant koppies and multilayered mountains that seem to touch the indigo sky. Listen to the silence, breathe in the aged earth and the Karoo bossies (which conjure up the taste of Karoo lamb!), and gaze at a startlingly clear horizon that seems drawn at the other end of the earth.


– Our Council –

In accordance with the Municipal Structures Act 117/1998, Camdeboo has been classified as a Category B Municipality; a plenary executive system combined with a Ward participatory system.  A plenary executive system limits the exercise of executive authority to the Municipal Council itself and a Ward participatory system allows for matters of local concern to be dealt with by Ward Committees.